Glitter Jar?

Matthew and I were talking the other day and he mentioned he had read about a glitter jar on a parenting website that the poster was describing as a tool that could be used to help teach a child how to calm down. As he was talking, I was thinking back to a conversation and weblink shared last year among myself and some other educators about glitter jars for promoting mindfulness (http://www.mindful.org/how-to-create-a-glitter-jar-for-kids/).

I am now wondering if this might be a tool I could make tomorrow to help myself during labour. I am thinking that as a very visual person, maybe the idea of the sparkles – thoughts, feelings, behaviours – swirling around in the jar could represent me during a contraction. My breath and my mindset would be what I need to focus on to still the sparkles. I am not sure if this will help, but hey…. I think it is worth a shot! I will report back on it.

