Finding Food

Eating foods that are Cow Milk Protein- and Soy-Free is trickier than one might think but definitely doable. I will also add that I can’t eat any nuts, with the exception of peanuts… so protein sourcing is in the forefront of my mind (dairy was my previous go to).

The good news in all of this is that I LOVE to cook and I love to eat good food. I have been compiling recipes for a homemade cookbook – inclusive of only those that I have actually made, often tweaked and love.

So here are a few tasty recipes that I enjoyed today and will continue to eat down the road.. even when I am free to return to eating whatever I choose. Cookbook update required.

High Protein Pancakes 

  • 1 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1 banana
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup egg whites
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tbsp hemp hearts (subbed for 1-2 scoops of protein powder)
  • pinch of salt
  • pinch of cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp flax meal

Blend all ingredients in a high-powered blender. Use 1/4 measure to form pancakes over medium-high heat in a non-stick pan (can coat with coconut oil, if desired). Add blueberries, if desired. (I used frozen blueberries and raspberries). Serve hot. Top with real maple syrup and/or peanut butter.

Makes 8-9 pancakes.

(adapted from pinchofyum.com)

Green Hemp Smoothie 

  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1 – 1 1/2 handfuls of frozen spinach (approx. 1 cup)
  • 1 pear, cored
  • 1 cup hemp milk

Blend on smoothie setting in a high-powered blender.

Serves1-2.

Homemade Hemp Milk 

  • 1 cup hemp hearts
  • 4 cups cold water

Blend. Use low setting in a high-powered blender. Strain using cheesecloth. Store in covered jar in fridge for 3-5 days.

 

Noting my opinion:

these protein pancakes are best eaten immediately. I do make the whole batch and refrigerate the extras, which I eat like bread the following day, but they taste better day 1 hot of the pan.

the smoothie is tasty. I find it quite sweet, but not over-the-top. I prefer the hemp milk made using the low blend setting and then strained, as the taste is milder than when I have used the higher setting (i.e., there is more is to strain out)

Bon appetit!

