Sticking with it

Yesterday, 48-hours post-elimination of cow protein and soy from my diet, we reintroduced expressed breast milk to our baby. The outcome was horrible. Early on things seemed to be okay but then blood started appearing again. Later afternoon/early evening there was a pretty terrifying diaper full of blood. The diapers that followed resembled those we have become accustomed to over the last few days. That being so, we decided to stop giving him my milk and return to the hypoallergenic formula until we could meet with the doctor.

Early on things seemed to be okay but then blood started appearing again. By 5:15 pm there was a pretty terrifying diaper full of blood. The diapers that followed resembled those we have become accustomed to over the last few days. Which are not to celebrated, but certainly a relief from the 5:15 pm one off. That being so, we decided to stop giving him my milk and return to the hypoallergenic formula until we could meet with the doctor.

The doctor and I spoke first thing this morning and she has assured me that from what I am telling her, and despite how terrifying it looks, this is how this allergy displays in infants. It is strange that that should be a relief.

We have decided to stick with the formula until Wednesday when I will reintroduce my milk again. We are heading to see the Neonatologist on Thursday again, so the thinking is this will allow us more information.

It may be true that this is how the allergy presents, but my goodness is it ever difficult to see the pain my baby is in. I hope that we are able to resolve this for him so that his tummy can mend and he can be at ease. Sticking with this plan will be hard to do but hopefully will pay off.

 

